Israeli Society - History - Jewish - LibGuides at TanenbaumCHAT

Official Parties' Websites

Election and Parties - The Israel Democracy Institute
Profiles of the different political parties in every election since the foundation of Israel.
The Knesset
A great resource for information about the Knesset members, parliamentary groups, the legislation process ane more.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
New multidisciplinary database with full-text content for more than 4,650 publications in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
Jewish Studies Source This link opens in a new window
Provides a collection of active full-text journals and magazines, as well as books, monographs, biographies and more. Searches also the Index to Jewish Periodicals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of articles from scholarly journals for arts, sciences, social sciences and humanities. Includes selected book chapters and primary sources. Sign in with Toronto Public Library card.

eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 141,000 e-books in a broad range of academic subjects, including political science, social science, technology, art, philosophy, education, and business.

We have many books about Israeli society in the library, scroll down for examples. Use the Library Catalogue to find more books on your topic.

The BDS War Against Israel by Jed Babbin
Call Number: 956.9405 BAB
ISBN: 9781499606454
The authors share their perspectives on the intricacies of and forces behind the Boycott, Divestment and Sanctions (BDS) movement against the state of Israel.
Conscientious Objectors in Israel by Erica Weiss
Call Number: 956.9405 WEI
ISBN: 9780812245929
The author examines the lives of Israelis who have refused to perform military service for reasons of conscience.
Critical Issues in Israeli Society by Alan Dowty
Call Number: 956.94054 CRI
ISBN: 9780275973209
Authoritative and analytic overviews of the tensions in Israeli society, including Jews-Arabs and ultra-Orthodox-secular issues.
Israeli Society in the Twenty-First Century by Calvin Goldscheider
Call Number: 956.94 GOL
ISBN: 9781611687477
This volume illuminates three changes in Israeli society over the past generation: the massive immigration of Jews from the former Soviet Union, the economic shift to a high-tech economy, and the growth of socioeconomic inequalities inside Israel.
Surviving Salvation by Ruth K. Westheimer; Steven B. Kaplan
Call Number: 909.04'924'063 WES
ISBN: 9780814792537
The focus of this work is the crucial issue of family life, examining how the personal relationships of the Ethiopian Jews are being radically transformed as they become assimilated into Israeli society.