LibGuides: Family: Family

Start Here!

The Family subject guide was created according to the research needs of the course's students and provides links and access to many reliable resources. Use them to find news and journal articles, encyclopedias entries, eBooks and websites. Passwords can be found on the Learning Resource Centre's Edsby page. For further research help, contact the librarian.

Recommended Websites

Families, Household and Marital Status - Statistics
Currents statistics on families, households and marital status in Canada on Statistics Canada.
Family Issues
Explore family issues such as social violence and maternal depression in the Encyclopedia on Early Childhood Development
The Vanier Institute of the Family
The Vanier Institute of the Family seeks to understand families in Canada and is researching how families are affected by social, economic, environmental and cultural forces. Find here fact sheets, statistic information, articles and news.

Assignments

APA 7 Citation Tools

APA 7 In Text Citations and References
For more information, see the main page for APA 7 citations: https://tanenbaumchat.libguides.com/Citations/APA
APA Style Powerpoint

Seneca College’s APA Citation Guide
Seneca College’s excellent interactive citation guide for APA.

Search News Articles

The Atlantic
The Atlantic is an American magazine and multi-platform publisher. It features articles in the fields of politics, foreign affairs, business and the economy, culture and the arts, technology, and science.

Access is available on the library's computers.
Canadian Newsstream
Provides access to the full text of nearly 300 newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including The Globe and Mail.

Formerly called Canadian Newstand.
MacLean's Magazine Online Digital Archive
Canada's national current affairs magazine. Covers all news articles from 1905 to present. New content is continually added as new issues are published.

Online Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Social Theory
The encyclopedia examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses.
Encyclopedia of Sociology
Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion have been updated and expanded, and completely new articles have been written on topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology.
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health
Provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.

Find Journal Articles

Academic Search Complete
New multidisciplinary database with full-text content for more than 4,650 publications in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.

Ebooks Databases and Recommendations

Families by Alex Liazos
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9781594510168

Publication Date: 2004

Unlike other family textbooks that mostly emphasize conflicts and problems, this book also features the joys and pleasures of family living and its mutually nourishing qualities.
Family in Crisis? by Eva-Sabine Zehelein (Editor)
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9783837650617

Publication Date: 2021

Scholars from varied disciplines discuss how today's rainbow variety of families crosses borders and how cultural texts (de-)construct family discourses around topics such as fatherhood and motherhood, reproductive decisions and adoption, marriage and divorce, poverty and welfare, and the rhetoric of the nuclear family.
Understanding Family and Personal Relationships by Christine Wilcox
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9781682822746

Publication Date: 2017

A ReferencePoint book that explores Family and other relationships' effect on a person's mental and physical sense of well-being.
Women and the Family by Carol Kim
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9781682825525

Publication Date: 2019

A ReferencePoint book that explores the history behind gender roles in the family and their effects on women and society.

eBook Academic Collection
Access to more than 141,000 e-books in a broad range of academic subjects, including political science, social science, technology, art, philosophy, education, and business.

ReferencePoint Press Complete Collection
A collection of 900 ebooks for grades 9-12 that includes books on various topics, e.g. history, health, and social studies. To search the collection click on the link or go to the LRC library catalogue.